Hello From Texas

I have been reading a lot of the "Veggie Power Ballpark Tour" by Joe Conner and I have to say I am loving it.  If you have missed it, Joe is driving around the country in a car powered by vegetable oil.  He is going to well over 215 games in 215 days.  I have dreamed of taking a similar trip after reading "Stolen Season" by David Lamb.  Now after a lot of debating, I am planning my own trip.  I hope I can learn from those that have done it in the past 

Trip Plans (so far)
I know its a long time till I plan to leave but there is a lot of planning to be done in the meantime.  So far, barring disaster, my plans are to start off in Arizona for spring training next year.  Then I plan on moving around the country watching baseball at as many levels as I can.  Not only do I hope to see every MLB stadium but many of the minor leagues, colleges, and possibly even little league and high school levels as well.  So far I have my trip taking me up the west coast, through the midwest, down south, and finishing up along the east coast.  I am very excited since this will probably be the only oportunity to take this trip.  I have nothing holding me back and you only live once right. 
As I travel I hope to interview players, personnel, and fans.  I have set up a website to chronicle my travels and I hope to use that plus this blog to not only help me out with my trip but to raise money for charity as well.  My initial goal is to raise $10,000.  That may not sound like a lot but for 1 man who is FAR from a celebrity I hope its an attainable goal.  I am still looking for ideas for the trip and ideas for raising money for charity.  I hope to have enough money saved up to last me for the full 6 months.  Its going to be a long journey just planning and putting everything together and that is why I am starting now.  So far the reception has been great from friends and family.

In the meantime, I hope to report here with things I see watching the game this year.  From the local Rangers, to my personal favorite Braves.  It will be an exciting second half and I can’t wait.  So I hope you drop by once in awhile to see how things are going.  Say hello from time to time and let’s have a great season. 

I am excited about this blog and it brings to mind a line I have remembered and have many fond memories of.  From the late great Mark Holtz, "Hello win column."

Till next time,
TJM

Leave a Reply

